Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: TB 1.19.15.0 Bundle problem

  1. #1

    TB 1.19.15.0 Bundle problem

    I wrote a great little ThinBasic program that uses the TB_XML60.INC file to parse XML files. The basic program runs fine.

    But when I go to bundle the application for distribution, the TB_XML60.DLL file does NOT get included in the bundle for some reason. I have to manually copy that file to the same location as my final executable in order to get it to run.

    How, using the super awesome new bundle script in 1.19.15.0 can I get it to include this DLL in the bundle?

    Thanks so much!

    *Brian

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,146
    Rep Power
    735
    Hi EmbeddedMan,

    good catch - the old dialog allowed this, but the new one doesn't.
    This is something we need to look into!


    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  3. #3
    Petr,

    Ahh, OK, so it wasn't something I missed then.

    I believe that this new bundle system is supported by XML files. Are they something I could edit in order to get this DLL included in my bundle?

    Or, would it be better for me to move to an older version of TB where I could specify the DLLs to be included?

    *Brian

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,146
    Rep Power
    735
    To give background - the only DLLs included in ThinBASIC Bundle are those which serve as modules. They are DLLs with interface allowing to supply metadata such as keywords, constants, objects and so forth.
    ThinBASIC does look up the module names by checking the Uses.

    The TB_XML60.DLL is classic DLL, referenced by include file. Because include files can reference for example system DLLs, the discovery is not done at this level to avoid unwanted side effects.

    I feel your pain - I will contact Eros and we will see what we can do. Stay tuned!


    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  5. #5
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,814
    Rep Power
    10
    Ciao,

    I'm working on this to fix this "bug" (well not really a bug but a missing feature) but ... I was already working on next thinBasic version so I may give you few fixed files (thinCore.dll and ThinBasic_Bundle_UI.dll) but already 1.9.16 version.
    While this is not a problem, thinCore.dll (the Core thinBasic engine) has not yet fully tested and can have few bugs inside.

    If your program is just a test, than it could be ok.
    If your program is a real application, it is better to wait next thinBasic version.

    Let me know.
    Eros
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | help.thinbasic.com
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64bit - 32 GB - Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-10855M CPU @ 2.80GHz - NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000

  6. #6
    Eros,

    Thanks so much for the quick response. This is a tool that our medical researchers will be using to extract XML data from inside large medical imaging files (DICOM data). So I'd rather wait until we have a fully baked release to reduce any support problems I might have if we use a test version of TB.

    Adding in the dll to the directory where the .exe lives manually isn't a huge deal. But I'll be very excited to try out 1.9.16 when it's available!

    *Brian

  7. #7
    thinBasic author ErosOlmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Milan - Italy
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,814
    Rep Power
    10
    OK then, perfect.

    When I will have something to test regarding next version I will let you know.
    www.thinbasic.com | www.thinbasic.com/community/ | help.thinbasic.com
    Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64bit - 32 GB - Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-10855M CPU @ 2.80GHz - NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Petr Schreiber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brno - Czech Republic
    Posts
    7,146
    Rep Power
    735
    Brian,

    if you are targetting medical application, I would recommend to keep your code Unit Tested. Please see this topic to get idea what is it about:
    http://www.thinbasic.com/community/showthread.php?12336

    Should you have any questions, I will be happy to introduce you to the world of unit testing.


    Petr
    Learn 3D graphics with ThinBASIC, learn TBGL!
    Windows 10 64bit - Intel Core i5-3350P @ 3.1GHz - 16 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB

  9. #9
    Petr,

    Thanks so much for the invitation. I'm the lead software developer of a Class III medical device, so we do quite a bit of testing (including unit testing) on our medical device, and I'm familiar with it.

    This tool that I'm writing in LB is not part of our medical device, however. It's a tool to help our researches catalog their data better. It is being validated by hand, which is fine for this type of tool.

    *Brian

Similar Threads

  1. bundle icon
    By largo_winch in forum Modules specific issues
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-05-2011, 17:12
  2. Releasing script without Bundle
    By martin in forum thinBasic General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-09-2009, 10:41
  3. Bundle updates
    By RobertoBianchi in forum thinBundle
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-11-2008, 20:31
  4. Bundle required dll's
    By catventure in forum thinBundle
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 29-04-2008, 08:07

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •