PDA

View Full Version : Error Messages after failed run/debug



Joe Caverly
07-01-2024, 17:53
I am using thinAir 1.11.7.0 on Windows 10 Pro 22H2 (OS Build 19045.3803)

When I run or debug a thinBasic script from thinAir,
if there is an error,
no error message is displayed (AFAIK) in the IDE,
the script simply aborts.

When I run a thinBasic script from the command line,
if there is an error,
a detailed error message is displayed,
for example;

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
thinBasic_RTError
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Main script: E:\Documents\vb6\DirectCOM\bin\test.tbasicc
Included script:
Error code: 7100
Error info: Operation not possible on an iDispatch variable that is not an object
Line number: 13
Line code: PRINTL CLSMATH.PPP(6.59)
Token found: CLSMATH
Additional info:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Does thinAir display this information in the IDE?
If so, how can I view this information in the thinAir IDE?

Joe

Petr Schreiber
07-01-2024, 18:40
Hi Joe,

thank you for reporting the problem!

Can you record your screen and share with us for example via wetransfer.com?

Try to execute this (intentionally wrong) script in thinAIR:


dim a as String


this is not valid syntax


On my PC I get:
- runTime error window pop-up
- information listed in Last Runtime Info in thinAir

Do you, by any chance, use #RTE_DoNotShowWindow in your script?


Thank you,
Petr

Joe Caverly
07-01-2024, 19:14
Howdy Petr,
Negative to #RTE_DoNotShowWindow in my script.

I used Windows Steps Recorder (https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/record-steps-to-reproduce-a-problem-46582a9b-620f-2e36-00c9-04e25d784e47) to show each step used with the test script you provided.

You can download the steps I went through with thinAir from https://drive.proton.me/urls/5R3G04D3P4#jwiFUMooc7jX

(File will expire January 13, 2024)

Joe

Joe Caverly
07-01-2024, 19:42
Hi Petr,
If you cannot view the images from the steps recorder in your browser,
I've placed them here (https://drive.proton.me/urls/AJNSRSQ5EG#taiD0a8liE9n)separately.

(I have IE Mode set in my Microsoft Edge Browser, which is required to view the .mht properly).

Joe

Joe Caverly
07-01-2024, 19:54
Hi again Petr,
This is off-topic,
or maybe not,
but in the steps recorder,
it shows the program being executed as;

THINBASICC.EXE @@D@@## R:\TEST.TBASICC

For what purpose is @@D@@## ?

Joe

Joe Caverly
07-01-2024, 23:28
In answer to my own question,

thinBasic command line with debugging flag;

thinBasic.exe @@D@@## AnyScriptFileName.tbasic

Found the answer in the help file;

mk:@MSITStore:E:\thinBasic\Help\thinbasic.chm::/thindebug.htm

Joe

Petr Schreiber
09-01-2024, 00:32
Correct,

thinAir adds the unusual flag to the command line.

Nice idea with the MHT - did not know this format at all.

Can you please try to save the script as *.tbasic instead of *.tbasicc? I think it will resolve the issue for now.

We will discuss why it does not work with *.tbasicc the same.


Thank you,
Petr

Joe Caverly
09-01-2024, 02:27
Hi Petr,
Yepper, changing .tbasicc to .tbasic solved the problem.

Error dialog popped up with all of the relevant information.

Thanks for that.

I am using thinBasic to convert my VBScript console code.

Thus, I am using thinbasicc.exe instead of thinbasic.exe to launch my .tbasicc console code.

Looking forward to hearing about thinAir and the .tbasicc extension.

BTW, I discovered the Uses "Trace" command,
which works great with the debugger and emits error information to the console.

Joe