View Full Version : Missing keywords in help
ReneMiner
03-08-2021, 01:58
this is list of already present and functioning keywords but not mentioned in the help until now
Core
to:
thinbasic-language\thinbasic-functions\variables functions
missing:
Variable_GetInfo()
not sure about syntax - i suspect equal to the sdk-function thinBasic_VariableGetInfoEX
to:
thinbasic-language\thinBasic-functions\Application functions
missing:
APP_ListVariables
i would also link this from varriables-section sinds its to find in Application-related
missing:
APP_ListKeywordsAndSyntax
missing:
APP_GetEntryPoint
APP_SetEntrypoint
i think the second one is mentioned in the beginning in relation to TBMain
to:
thinbasic-language\script structure\functions & subs
missing:
Function_GetBodyCode
Function_GetSourceCode
Function_GetStackLevel
File module
to:
thinBasic Modules\File\ (DISK?)
missing:
Disk_Free("C:")
missing:
Disk_Size("C:")
ReneMiner
25-08-2021, 00:38
some that are entitled wrong
ThinBASIC Language (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/thinbasiclanguage.htm) > thinBasic Functions (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/core.htm) > Application functions (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/applicationfunctions.htm) > App (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/app.htm) > Environ (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/environ.htm) > ...
shows "App.Process.ID"
should be "Environment.*"
syntax here also says
sValue = APP.Environment.*
so i assume the pages title in the navigation tree should show "Environment.*" instead of "Environ.*" (?)
ThinBASIC Modules (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/thinbasic_modules.htm) > UI (User Interface) (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/ui.htm) > CONTROLS (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/controls.htm) > Control Types (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/types-of-controls.htm) > Image Control (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/image-control.htm) > Image Control Creation (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/x-control-creation_3.htm) > Control Add ...
should be "Control Add Image"
but shows "CONTROL ADD LINE"
ThinBASIC Modules (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/thinbasic_modules.htm) > UI (User Interface) (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/ui.htm) > CONTROLS (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/controls.htm) > Control Types (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/types-of-controls.htm) > Richedit Control (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/richedit-control.htm) > Richedit Control Creation (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/x-control-creation_12.htm) > Control Add ...
should be "Control Add Richedit"
but shows "Control Add PropertyList"
ThinBASIC Language (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/thinbasiclanguage.htm) > Module Classes (mk:@MSITStore:D:\thinBasic\Help\thinBasic.chm::/module_classes2.htm) > New Operator
should mention alternate syntax or better:
give an example using a to core built-in class
'-- dimension class variable
Dim myTimer As cTimer
'-- instatiate it:
myTimer = New cTimer("myTimersName")
'-- equals creation and instantiation in one go:
Dim myTimer As New cTimer("myTimersName")
When to use what syntax?
'-- one class variable:
Dim oneTimer As New CTIMER("Timer01")
'--array of a class variable
Dim multipleTimers(2) As CTIMER
multipleTimers(1) = New CTIMER("Timer_A")
multipleTimers(2) = New CTIMER("Timer_B")
Msgbox(StrFormat$("oneTimer : {1}{2}multipleTimers 1: {3}{2}multipleTimers 2: {4}{2}",
oneTimer.GetName, $CRLF, multipleTimers(1).GetName, multipleTimers(2).GetName ),
%MB_ICONINFORMATION,
"Timer classes" )
ReneMiner
09-10-2021, 20:18
you will not get any listview-control to appear on screen if you do not use the following Equates to apply the Listview-style
must be added to the listview-style-equates on creating a listview:
nowhere mentioned: %LV_VIEW_...
%LVS_REPORT etc do not work and the listview will not appear if not using
the equates starting with %LV_VIEW_...
someone who will not exactly study and analyze the thinbasic-sample-scripts does never have the slightest chance to get a listview displayed on the screen because these equates are not documented - i dont know why microsoft uses a diferrent enumeration here, has something to do with visual styles i read somewhere. On other sources i read
it would require to implement a manifest to use the control in different views, but it works specifying one of those together with Styles on creation of a listview
However i can not tell what is the difference between Report & Details view
(i thought Report is the style known from explorer where items have subitems and details view somewhat alike wide tiles that allow an items description (specially to add using a LV_Item-structure)
Also a value %LV_View_Max is present in thinBasic UI-module - but no idea what it's purpose
these are present equates / described in Listview_SetView but nowhere mentioned the use on Listview-creation in combination with styles
%LV_VIEW_REPORT
%LV_VIEW_DETAILS
%LV_VIEW_ICON
%LV_VIEW_LIST
%LV_VIEW_SMALLICON
%LV_VIEW_TILE
%LV_VIEW_MAX
while using listview-styles
%LVS_ICON
%LVS_SMALLICON
%LVS_LIST
%LVS_REPORT
will only show the effect of nothing to show: the listview will not appear
Tree_Del(pTree, "KEY" & Format$(1000, "000000"))
found in thinBasic\SampleScripts\DataStructures\thinBasic_DataStructures_AVLTree.tbasic
I thought is strange not to have a way to remove something. turn out there was a way.
also not in call tips.
did not find a mention in the forum.
I really like the samples.
Fred.